07 250r. Having hard time shimming
  • Tm85cc07

07 250r. Having hard time shimming

by Tm85cc07 » Thu Apr 28, 2016 7:24 pm

I am new to four strokes. Just put a new head on and finding it hard to shin valves. When my engines is tdc I noticed the exhaust cam lobe is right on the small decompression lever in the cam. Is this right? Do you make your clearance while rocker is touching this mechanism? I also notice a very quiet click noise from this mechanism once the engine is turned to tdc. Any help is appreciated I must have tried shimming this head 20+ times and no luck
    JimDirt

by JimDirt » Thu Apr 28, 2016 9:41 pm

Welcome to the site !! \:D/

Looking from the left side where the cam sprocket is , the slash marks (they look like this - -,one on each side of the sprocket) , need to be level with the head , the cam lobes need to be at the 2 O'clock position facing the rear of the engine

Make sure that you have ALL 3 timing marks aligned , the left side small round plug in Timing Cover , , the slash marks on the cam sprocket , and on the clutch side the large round plug for the counter balancer marks , along with the cam facing 2 O'clock and you should be good , also make sure when you check the valve lash that the tower bolts are torqued to spec , otherwise the gap will be off

2020 CRF450R
    2006 CRF450X
    Weiser , Idaho
  • Tm85cc07

by Tm85cc07 » Fri Apr 29, 2016 3:29 am

Thanks.... I do have the timing right. What I am unsure of is... At tdc, the exhaust rocker roller rests on the decompression lever after making a click noise. Do I need to check the backlash at this point? When all timing is aligned seems to be right on decompression lever.

I ask this because once the rocker moves off of decompression lever backlash is much more.
    Thanks
    JimDirt

by JimDirt » Fri Apr 29, 2016 7:50 am