2005 CRF450x Reccomended Jetting
  • Hondakid1775

2005 CRF450x Reccomended Jetting

by Hondakid1775 » Mon Sep 03, 2018 5:25 pm

Hello everyone. I recently purchased a rarely used CRF450x with a Yoshimure pipe. I am not a new rider, but I'm new to the 450 class. I am a B rider so I'm not going too slow but I'm not exactly blazing through the super tight trails around my area. I'd say I'm averaging around 15-25mph. My bike boils like a mofo though. It boiled again today after going a great speed through the hills, and I'm getting so upset. Now, my coolant wasnt TOO low and I had nothing in my overflow so it could be a coolant issue. But I've also noticed the bike runs SUPER lean (hence the popping on deceleration. I need jetting advice, I'm running from 3500ft to 5000ft elevation. I have a Yoshi pipe on it, (I cannot find a Yoshi Model number), hopefully I can get away with that. But I think more or less I wanna do a rejetting to it because I'm also gonna be doing in town riding because I'm making it a dual sport. Yes I know, 5 speed, 450 not meant for the street but save me and yourself time by not telling me that as I hear it everywhere. Plesse and thank you for any advice that anyone can give. I'm brand new to rejetting bikes, so please if You can find the kit anywhere please include a link or something. I'm clueless and tired of this thing boiling or some advice and questions if needed to come to a diagnosis.

-Ricky
  • Leardriver

Re: 2005 CRF450x Reccomended Jetting

by Leardriver » Tue Sep 04, 2018 2:34 am

Popping on decel is completely normal on a perfectly jetted bike.

A 162 main in colder weather, 160 in the summer will work fine.

My '08 never overheats. Are your radiators smashed or fins flattened?
    JimDirt

Re: 2005 CRF450x Reccomended Jetting

by JimDirt » Thu Sep 06, 2018 9:56 am

Welcome to the site !! \:D/