front forks going down and not returning up
    luisonair

front forks going down and not returning up

by luisonair » Thu Oct 12, 2017 1:09 pm

Hi everyone, I recently sent my CRF 250x 2004 for front fork seals and fork oil replacement to a local shop, but now the front forks seem to go down and not returning up, it feels like sinking unless I pull them up. When the bike is on it`s side stand and then I straight the bike up it feels like going down and when I try to press the suspension further it seems to be bottomed. What can it be? bad assembling?, incorrect oil level? parts damaged while reassembling? everything was working correctly unless it was leaking oil from the left fork. I was thinking on taking all apart and reassemble it with new seals and oil by myself but I have never done this before. What is the best thing to do? what can it be the problem? any help is very appreciated
    thanks in advance
    2004 CRF250X
    2007 CRF230F
  • Leardriver

Re: front forks going down and not returning up

by Leardriver » Thu Oct 12, 2017 8:26 pm

The springs should push them back out quite firmly, unless they are bound up or pinched sideways.
    I would take them off and see if the are like that individually. Maybe a pinched or deformed tube?
  • Aussiecrf230

by Aussiecrf230 » Fri Oct 13, 2017 11:13 pm

Check the rebound setting isn'tfully adjusted so it is super slow to rebound to the centre of travel. Back it off to minimum and see if that helps. Undo the clamps arond the axle in case it is causing things to twist and bind up,.
    Ray
    Australia

CRF230F 2004
    C30F Power Up needle
    Mains 132
    Idle 45
    2 turns out
    Baffle out, Screens In

It starts,it runs,it gets to where all CRFs can get to without the valve or valve plate dramas
  • Back2-2

by Back2-2 » Sat Oct 14, 2017 6:45 am