HELP! Replacing seal on bottom rear shock
    momuzik

HELP! Replacing seal on bottom rear shock

by momuzik » Sun Nov 30, 2014 1:43 pm

I picked up a pro action rear shock for my crf250x but it leaks from the bottom seal (see pic) and plan on replacing the seal myself and needed some advice since Im new to these kind of shocks.

To replace the seal do I remove the Phillips screw holding the bottom shock bracket to the rod, then remove the rebound valve?

And after I replace with new seal, do I fill the oil where the rebound valve is then replace the valve and tighten, and how much oil? brand/type?

Do I need to release the nitrogen pressure before any disassembly prior to replacing the bottom seal?

Any help would be gravely appreciated, thanks
    JimDirt

by JimDirt » Sun Nov 30, 2014 4:17 pm

Do you have a Honda Service Manual ?? , i would recommend getting one before attempting to replace the seal , as you will have to completely disassemble the shock to remove the seal (not a Clymer Manual , a Factory Service Manual
    http://www.crfsonly.com/catalog/product ... ts_id/3226

That shock is basically a stock Honda shock that has been re-valved and re-worked so the function and servicing is the same as stock

You will also need to bleed off the Nitrogen before attempting dis-assembly , and find someone that can re-charge it for you

These videos will give you a idea of what is needed to service the shock , but again , i recommend getting the manual first , once you have the manual with detailed pictures and info , its not that hard , but dont blindly tear into it or your asking for trouble , i can walk you thru any questions you have , as things need to be measured and assembled in the correct order so if you get stuck with something in the manual , i can guide you thru it , and doing it correctly is a necessity or the shock can come apart while riding if you dont do things right