Frustrated jumper
  • DBKID

Frustrated jumper

by DBKID » Thu Aug 16, 2007 10:13 pm

The past couple weeks I've been taking my 450 to a local track. On every jump my back end drops, its like I'm riding a wheelie through the air. It's frustrating because it makes a very uncomfortable landing. I've tried smooth throttle and leaning forward when I hit the jumps but that doesn't seem to work. Thanks for the help.
    BigD

by BigD » Thu Aug 16, 2007 10:35 pm

I'm far from an expert, but I think the trick is to tap your back brake. I remember reading that on a post recently.
    Sounds difficult, but I've seen people do it and it seems to work.
    2006 CRF 250x
    JD Jet, GPR Stabilizer, Bafflectomy, no backfire screen, 13/51 gearing, oil slick, smoke screen, heat seeking missles, twin 50 cal.'s, etc...
  • Smash

by Smash » Fri Aug 17, 2007 1:52 am

You want to come of the jump at a steady throttle and not let the bike rev up. Accelerating up the face of a jump or accelerating in the air will pull the nose of the bike up (or if the bike is starting to nose forward it will stop the nose from dropping). Hitting the rear brake will bring the nose down.

Try holding a steady speed as you hit the jump. Hold the throttle steady as you approach the jump and come of the jump. Once in the air let the throttle go back to idle.

Also, you want a neutral riding position. Not leaning to far forward or too far back. Your head should be over the handlebars as you take off from the launch ramp.

Pick one jump and practice, practice and practice. Jump it a couple hundred times trying the stuff above and you'll be on your way.

by 124 » Fri Aug 17, 2007 7:22 am

You've gotten some good advise, but I would like to say that the back brake is not your answer. This is a style thing that comes and goes. Technique in certain situations, but definitely not needed when learning.