Awful rattling noise coming from engine 2006 CRF450x
  • Brnjac

Awful rattling noise coming from engine 2006 CRF450x

by Brnjac » Mon Jun 03, 2019 4:04 pm

Hi All,

I am trying to troubleshoot this sound my bike has started making. I know these engines can are a bit on the noisey side, but this is somthing new that I haven't heard before. I have owned the bike since November and put about 30-40 hours on it. I have done regular oil changes and air filter maintence, but never checked the valves until now. One of the valve cover bolts was stripped from the previous owner so I didn't want to take it off any sooner than I had to. Anyways I've got the stripped bolt fixed with a helicoil and eventually got to the valves, the intake ones were a bit tight and the exhaust ones seemed tight as well.I went and exchanged some shims and put it back together, but the clearances still arent great so I will have to go back tomorrow and get some more. It's my first time using feeler gauges so I'm not exactly sure how the friction should feel.

Here is a video of the first startup since I had the bike apart for the valve check. Skip to 1:10 for sound:

The bike is really hard to kick, it feels like there is a lot of compression. Sometimes it would backfire on startup... I am thinking that maybe it's time for a valve job? I don't mind spending the money but I would like to confirm that first...

Thanks in advance everyone
    JimDirt

Re: Awful rattling noise coming from engine 2006 CRF450x

by JimDirt » Mon Jun 03, 2019 6:53 pm

Welcome to the site ......as easily as it started when kicking , it sounds like the valves are not too far off if at all , the hard E-Start sounds like either a weak battery or possibly the decompressor is not adjusted (the gap is wrong) correctly , 1mm too tight or too loose can make it hard to crank and have too much compression when kicking or Button starting