Another Newb Afoot
  • Onetrackmind

Another Newb Afoot

by Onetrackmind » Wed Sep 06, 2017 3:29 pm

Hey guys, I'm totally new to the CRF side of Honda and found myself with an '05 450X. For the last several years, I have been messing w Honda trikes (250Rs and 350x) and it's been an experience working on these older (ancient) machines. I have found that there isn't much you can't do with tools, a shop manual and the right attitude.

So...here I am w a (fairly) modern liquid thumper. I found it listed in a small town a few hours from me and the price was right. The seller needed cash and was honest about the fact that he couldn't keep it running. He has had it for several years and never really had time to ride it.

When we met for me to look at it, he had to jump it to get it to fire...no big deal...dead battery I thought. I rode it for about 3 minutes before it died and I couldn't kick it back to life. We tried to jump it for a while and never could keep it running. That's when he started tuning it.

He simply twisted the carb in the boots to access the fuel screw and that's when I noticed that it didn't even have an insulator band on the venturi side of the carb! Obviously the filter side was too loose as well. (I do realize that I may be looking at a top-end and possibly a new bore...maybe even a valve job because of this extremely lean condition.)

I asked him to quit jacking w it and I offered him half of his asking price...eventually he took it. I guess he didn't feel like loading it back up and driving it 2.5hrs back home...or just glad to get rid of it.