2009 crf450r transmission problem
  • GreasyHands

2009 crf450r transmission problem

by GreasyHands » Thu May 09, 2019 7:37 am

Hey guys new to forum, thanks for all the good info! So I bought a 2009 crf450r basket case for a supermoto project. The crank was bad when I bought it so I’m doing a complete rebuild, when I put cases back together and test transmission it seems to get hung up in between gears like going in to second it will stick and not want to go up or down without persuasion then it will shift well and stick again in between. I have replaced multiple gears that are worn, Shift forks look good, I think it could be shift drum but it looks pretty good but I’m no professional. I’m testing engine level and with center drum attached and gearshift drum stopper, with a socket and rachet. I also have manual for bike so I have complete diagram of parts and which order they go. I will post some pics of gears replaced, shift drum, and it being stuck in between. Thanks
    You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
    JimDirt

Re: 2009 crf450r transmission problem

by JimDirt » Thu May 09, 2019 9:56 am

Welcome to the site !! \:D/

When you say the shift forks "look good" did you actually check them with the specs in the manual ??? , a fork can be bent and not "look" bent , as well as the shift shaft(where the shifter attaches) can get bent in a fall , and bind up ..... BUT , I am assuming the bike was apart when you got it ?? , if so , are you sure the shims are in the correct location and the gear shafts are not pushed to one side of the case or the other because too many shims are on one side , and not enough on the other ???